The User’s Guide to the Chakras


The chakras are one of the technologies of Tantra Yoga used to achieve harmony and balance in one’s life. A chakra is an intersection between to nadis: energetic pathways through which the life energy prana flows. The seven major chakras are usually represented by a column of seven coloured symbols (or yantras) aligned along the spine. By paying attention to these various energetic centers we can enhance our mental and spiritual wellbeing. Click on the links below to explore the different psychological aspects to each of the major chakras, and different ways to exercise them in your day-to-day life.

Articles About the Chakra System

A Brief Introduction to the Chakra System
Muladhara: The Root Chakra
Svadisthana: The Sacral Chakra


Manipura: The Solar Plexus Chakra
Anahata: The Heart Chakra
Vishuddha: The Throat Chakra


Ajna: The Brow Chakra
Sahasrara: The Crown Chakra

Can’t Get Enough of the Chakras?

If you’re interested in deepening your understanding of yoga philosophy you have a few options:

  • Read our other articles about the eight limbs of yoga or the yamas and niyamas.
  • Register for one of our online courses through the Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies.
  • Sign up for our Philosophy Module and work towards your 500-Hour certification!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top